Sara VanDerBeek Nominated for Smithsonian’s Contemporary Artist Award


2012 © Sara VanDerBeek

Established in 2001, the Smithsonian American Art Museum created the Contemporary Artist Award to enhance the museum’s commitment to living artists and to honor their achievements. Artists nominated have to be younger than 50, have produced a significant body of work, and consistently demonstrate exceptional creativity.

The 15 nominees for the 2012 Contemporary Artist Award, whose work spans a diverse range of media, are Matthew Buckingham, Kathy Butterly, Christina Fernandez, Amy Franceschini, Rachel Harrison, Oliver Herring, Glenn Kaino, Sowon Kwon, Ruben Ortiz-Torres, Jaime Permuth, Will Ryman, Ryan Trecartin, Mark Tribe, Mary Simpson and Sara VanDerBeek.

Artists are nominated by a panel of jurors from across the country, each with a wide knowledge of contemporary art. The artist receives $25,000 with the intent to encourage the future development and experimentation of the artist’s work. Winners will be announced in October.

VanDerBeek appeared in Aperture issue 202.