"31 Contemporary Photographers" at VII Gallery Brooklyn

Discover the diverse, award-winning artwork, photojournalism and documentary photography of 31 contemporary photographers at this exhibition opening today at VII Gallery in Brooklyn.

This powerful, eclectic show highlights the work of winners of the Lens Culture International Exposure Awards 2010, and it represents a truly wide range of photographic styles and approaches of using photography to communicate important stories and compelling ideas. These winning images were selected by an international jury of experts, who reviewed more than 6,500 entries submitted by photographers from 47 countries.

The exhibition opens at VII Gallery on July 14, 2011 and continues through September 2, 2011. The opening party is open to the public, July 14, 6-9 pm. Join us for the festivities!

This group exhibition was shown at Gallery 291 in San Francisco in April, earlier this year, and will travel to Paris in September to be shown at the Spéos Gallery. Special thanks to our partners and sponsors: VII Photo, Ghost Pines winery, Blurb.com, and Pictopia Labs.

The award winners featured in this group show are:

Portfolio Category
Grand Prize: Jessica Hines
2nd Prize: Carolle Benitah
3rd Prize: Louisa Marie Summer

Single Image Category
Grand Prize: Martine Fougeron
2nd Prize: Albertina d’Urso
3rd Prize: Anne Berry

Honorable Mention Awards
Susan Bank
David Carol
Ellie Davies
Frank Day
Bruno De Cock
Margaret de Lange
Dan Dubowitz
Joachim Froese
Julia Fullerton-Batten
Kevin Greenblat
Daisuke Ito
Mary Shannon Johnstone
David Lazar
Sebastian Liste
Adam Magyar
Rania Matar
Justin Maxon
Bill McCullough
Marcia Michael
David Rochkind
Julian Roeder
Evzen Sobek
Miki Soejima
Ian Teh
Jan von Holleben

Congratulations to all of these winners, and our sincere gratitude to everyone who shared their work with us in this year’s competition. It was great to discover so many new talents!

You could be a winner this year! Photographers and multimedia producers, enter your work for this year’s competition: Lens Culture International Exposure Awards 2011.