Turner Prize 1984 to 2008 – All The Winners – David Gray This Year’s Love

www.stuckism.com A photo essay set to the music of David Gray’s “This Year’s Love” of all the Turner prize winners from the inception of the Prize in 1983 to Today. family therapy . Nicholas Serota introduces the piece and is seen at its conclusion interjecting with the Stuckists on the steps of the Tate Gallery. sedation dentist . The Turner Prize, named after the painter JMW Turner, is an annual prize presented to a British visual artist under 50. It is organised by the Tate gallery and staged at Tate Britain. Since its beginnings in 1984 it has become the United Kingdom’s most publicised art award. It has become associated with conceptual art, although it represents all media and painters have also won the prize. The prize fund from 2004 onwards was 40000. There have been different sponsors, including Channel 4 television and Gordon’s gin. The prize is awarded by a distinguished celebrity: in 2006 this was Yoko Ono. childrens flat caps . It is a controversial event, mainly for its exhibits, such as a shark in formaldehyde by Damien Hirst and a dishevelled bed by Tracey Emin. Controversy has also ensued from other directions, including a Culture Minister (Kim Howells) criticising exhibits, a guest of honour (Madonna) swearing, a prize judge (Lynn Barber) writing in the press, and a speech by Sir Nicholas Serota (about the purchase of a trustee’s work). The event has also regularly attracted demonstrations, notably the K Foundation and the Stuckists, as well as alternative prizes to assert different artistic values. David Gray