The Grange Prize Shortlist

In late May, AGO and Aeroplan announced the four shortlisted artists for the Grange Prize. These four photographers – Josh Brand, Moyra Davey, Leslie Hewitt, and Kristan Horton – represent a variety of creative styles and four intriguing views of the photographic medium.

Get to know these artists and their work at the Grange Prize website, where you will find images, video, and a history of the prize. Over the past few weeks, The Grange Prize blog has posted videos of each artist as they discuss their work and techniques – everything from materials, use of space, perspective, their photographic history, and even a bit of philosophy.

One of the best elements of this contest? Beginning Wednesday September 22, the public (meaning YOU) can visit the GP site to vote for the winner. So get to watching, reading, and voting!

Josh Brand

A selection of works by all four shortlisted artists will be on view at the MoCP from October 8 through December 23, 2010.